Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. habil. Robert Weigel


Department of Electrical-Electronic-Communication Engineering
Chair of Electronics (Prof. Dr. Weigel)

Room: Room 04.229
Cauerstraße 9
91058 Erlangen

About Robert Weigel

Born in Ebermannstadt (Bavaria), Robert Weigel has studied Microwave Theory and Techniques at the Munich University of Technology, where he also received his phd with a work dealing with „Integrated Acoustooptic Light Deflectors“ and his habilitation with a work on „Surface Acoustic Wave Devices at UHF Frequencies“. Then he founded the Institute for Communications and Information Technology at the University in Linz, before he overtook the vacant Institute for Electronics Engineering (LTE) in Erlangen. His curriculum covering RF Microwaves in Munich, Communications in Linz, and Electronics Engineering in Erlangen has broken the ground for the breadth of the LTE. Already during his time in Munich he established ties with Siemens in the Microwave Acoustic (since 1984) and in the Integrated RF Circuits arena (since 1994) which are still active today; of course the partner today is no more Siemens since several electronics companies where carved out. During his time in Linz, he had co-founded DICE (Danube Integrated Circuit Engineering), from which later two companies arose due to take-overs by Infineon and Intel (recently overtaken by Apple), and which alltogether today have over 650 staff members. In Erlangen, he co-founded eesy-ic with today over 60 staff members.



  • : 2020 IEEE Microwave Career Award (IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S)) – 2020

  • , , , : RWW Student Paper Competition, 2nd place (IEEE Radio and Wireless Week) – 2019
  • , , : Radio Wireless Week Student Paper Competition, 1st Place (IEEE) – 2019

  • , , , , , , : RWW Student Paper Competition, 3rd place (IEEE Radio and Wireless Week) – 2018
  • , , , , : Best Paper Award - "An acoustic emmission sensor system for thin layer crack detection" (European Symposium on Reliability of Electron Devices, Failure Physics and Analysis) – 2018
  • : EuMA Distinguished Service Award 2018 (European Microwave Association (EuMA)) – 2018
  • : IEEE Rudolf Henning Distinguished Mentoring Award (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)) – 2018
  • : ITG-Fellow (Informationstechnischen Gesellschaft (ITG) im VDE) – 2018